|If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.|
||Thread Tools||Display Modes|
Excalibur King Arthur question about + Check.
In article ,
I recently just started playing chess.
My question deals with the Excalibur King Arthur chess system.
Upon playing this game- I was checked. I had 2 remaining pieces with
no moves availble. I was left with a King and Pawn. Each time I went
to move the King I was checked.This was also indicated by a "X" on the
screen. As I had no available moves anywhere, the game was essentially
over. However the game never said mate, check mate or anything to
indicate end of game. SHould the game have said anything to show end?
or was the + sufficent. Thank you.
It is very, very, rare. But I have seen a couple of cases where King
Arthur (as best as I could tell), overlooked making the "mate" designation.
Now this is after playing literally hundreds and hundreds of games on King
Arthur and similar units. Even I confess, that perhaps I overlooked a move
on some of the games.
All in all, King Arthur is a pretty darn good reliable program. But keep
in mind the processor and memory of the King Arthur unit are only a few
My review of King Arthur can be found at:
My LCD Chess home page link is: