A Chess forum. ChessBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ChessBanter forum » Chess Newsgroups » rec.games.chess.computer (Computer Chess)
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Tags: , , ,

Chess Database Group - Denial



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 21st 04, 12:17 AM
John Cordes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

A while ago I received an email invitation to join the
chessdatabase group at Yahoo:

************************************************** *
You are invited to join this New Yahoo Group about Chess
Databases (commercial and freeware programs).
Enjoy it!

Thank you
Chessdatabase Group
************************************************** *

Today I tried to subscribe and was turned rejected:

************************************************** *
From: chessdatabase moderator
Hello,
The moderator of the chessdatabase group has denied
your request for membership.
************************************************** *

I am curious about the reason for this. Anybody else experienced it?

--
John Cordes
Ads
  #2  
Old April 21st 04, 01:36 PM
Ari Makela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

In article , John Cordes wrote:

Today I tried to subscribe and was turned rejected:

************************************************** *
From: chessdatabase moderator
Hello,
The moderator of the chessdatabase group has denied
your request for membership.
************************************************** *

I am curious about the reason for this. Anybody else experienced it?


The owner is a spammer. Maybe he's just confirming addresses?

--
Ari Makela no escaping it -
I must step on fallen leaves
http://arska.org/hauva/ to take this path (Suzuki Majoko)

  #3  
Old April 21st 04, 03:35 PM
John Cordes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

Ari Makela wrote:
In article , John Cordes wrote:

Today I tried to subscribe and was turned rejected:

************************************************** *
From: chessdatabase moderator
Hello,
The moderator of the chessdatabase group has denied
your request for membership.
************************************************** *

I am curious about the reason for this. Anybody else experienced it?


The owner is a spammer. Maybe he's just confirming addresses?


I was beginning to wonder if it was a spam trap. How do you know
with such certainty?

I thought Yahoo was supposed to be pretty good at protecting
against such things... Guess I'd better think again.

--
John Cordes
  #4  
Old April 21st 04, 08:31 PM
HD
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

The "Chess database" group is not spam! There's another one, called the
Chess Database Discussion".
When you got the denial from the Chess Database group after an
invitation, it's probably because it's experied - there's a 7 day limit
to accept.

HD

John Cordes wrote:

A while ago I received an email invitation to join the
chessdatabase group at Yahoo:

************************************************** *
You are invited to join this New Yahoo Group about Chess
Databases (commercial and freeware programs).
Enjoy it!

Thank you
Chessdatabase Group
************************************************** *

Today I tried to subscribe and was turned rejected:

************************************************** *
From: chessdatabase moderator
Hello,
The moderator of the chessdatabase group has denied
your request for membership.
************************************************** *

I am curious about the reason for this. Anybody else experienced it?


  #5  
Old April 21st 04, 10:15 PM
David Richerby
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

CeeBee wrote:
John Cordes wrote in rec.games.chess.computer:
I am curious about the reason for this. Anybody else experienced it?


I receive it as well, as will many others here. Possibly a spam trap.


I received enough of them that I told Yahoo to stop sending them to me,
which seems to have worked. Of course, that meant giving my E-mail
address to Yahoo but, hey, they already had it and it's attached to
everything I post here.


Dave.

--
David Richerby Fluorescent Surprise.com (TM): it's
www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ like an E-commerce portal but not like
you'd expect and it'll hurt your eyes!
  #6  
Old April 22nd 04, 07:37 AM
Ari Makela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

In article , John Cordes wrote:
Ari Makela wrote:
In article , John Cordes wrote:

Today I tried to subscribe and was turned rejected:

************************************************** *
From: chessdatabase moderator
Hello,
The moderator of the chessdatabase group has denied
your request for membership.
************************************************** *

I am curious about the reason for this. Anybody else experienced it?


The owner is a spammer. Maybe he's just confirming addresses?


I was beginning to wonder if it was a spam trap. How do you know
with such certainty?


Well, he spams, so he's is a spammer. That is certain and that makes him
criminal where I live.

Confirming the addresses is just a guess - that's why I used the word
"maybe".

--
Ari Makela no escaping it -
I must step on fallen leaves
http://arska.org/hauva/ to take this path (Suzuki Majoko)

  #7  
Old April 22nd 04, 07:52 AM
Ari Makela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

In article , HD wrote:
The "Chess database" group is not spam!


They send unsolicited email also known as spam. I have certainly not
given them my permission to email me. Most of the opt-out spam is
illegal in EU depending on the specific implementation of the EU directive.
Here in Finland it's a crime to spam a person although unfortunately
it's necesserily not a crime to spam a company. I need neither porn nor
chess spam in my inbox.

So, chess database group is committing crimes in many countries.

--
Ari Makela no escaping it -
I must step on fallen leaves
http://arska.org/hauva/ to take this path (Suzuki Majoko)

  #8  
Old April 22nd 04, 10:01 AM
HD
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

Well, in that light, I agree - you can consider an unsolicited
invitation as spam if you like, and the law might agree in many
countries. Personally I was unable so see it as spam, when it arrived in
my mail, and I still don't.
If I got tons of it, I would most likely quickly change my mind - I
don't like to be spammed either.

HD

Ari Makela wrote:
In article , HD wrote:

The "Chess database" group is not spam!



They send unsolicited email also known as spam. I have certainly not
given them my permission to email me. Most of the opt-out spam is
illegal in EU depending on the specific implementation of the EU directive.
Here in Finland it's a crime to spam a person although unfortunately
it's necesserily not a crime to spam a company. I need neither porn nor
chess spam in my inbox.

So, chess database group is committing crimes in many countries.


  #9  
Old April 23rd 04, 08:50 AM
Ari Makela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

In article , Chaos wrote:

In other words, if I were to answer this post via email, whether agreeing or
disagreeing, that would be spam?


Of course not as it would not be a mass mailing.

--
Ari Makela no escaping it -
I must step on fallen leaves
http://arska.org/hauva/ to take this path (Suzuki Majoko)

  #10  
Old April 23rd 04, 05:35 PM
Antonio R.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chess Database Group - Denial

John Cordes wrote in message ...
A while ago I received an email invitation to join the
chessdatabase group at Yahoo:

************************************************** *
You are invited to join this New Yahoo Group about Chess
Databases (commercial and freeware programs).
Enjoy it!

Thank you
Chessdatabase Group
************************************************** *

The Yahoo Groups give you 7 days to join. If passed the 7 days, you
have to check if the group has a restricted policy to join or not. The
web site of the chessdatabase group is restricted and says that
applicants have to sent an e-mail to the group owner, and his e-mail
given at the bottom of the page. I did this some time ago and I got a
valid invitation.

Hope it helps
Antonio
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0
Copyright ©2004-2008 ChessBanter, part of the NewsgroupBanter project.
The comments are property of their posters.
Car Credit - Car Finance - Cingular Ringtones - Loans - Loans