![]() |
| If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. |
|
|||||||
| Tags: getlocation |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
I am intrigued by the potential of
http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. For example, yesterday I was able to use this service to establish that Neil Brennen had posted a fake anonymous biography of me. I moved my Internet service from Jamaica Queens to the Morris Heights Section of the Bronx on July 25-26, 2005. Since the move, my Verio postings have been from NNTP-Posting-Host: 24.45.216.80 My last posting from Jamaica Queens was on July 25, 2005 at 4:05 AM under What's Next for Chess HQ? where I wrote "Hanke wrote that right here". It was from NNTP-Posting-Host: 151.202.94.119 My next posting was the following day from the Bronx: Date: Tue, 26 Jul 2005 14:12:26 GMT NNTP-Posting-Host: 24.45.216.80 Under Subject: Chess and Supreme Court I wrote "I will have to post this one on my website too." This service should make it more easy to catch the fake posters. Sam Sloan |
| Ads |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sam Sloan wrote:
I am intrigued by the potential of http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. For example, yesterday I was able to use this service to establish that Neil Brennen had posted a fake anonymous biography of me. I moved my Internet service from Jamaica Queens to the Morris Heights Section of the Bronx on July 25-26, 2005. Since the move, my Verio postings have been from NNTP-Posting-Host: 24.45.216.80 My last posting from Jamaica Queens was on July 25, 2005 at 4:05 AM under What's Next for Chess HQ? where I wrote "Hanke wrote that right here". It was from NNTP-Posting-Host: 151.202.94.119 My next posting was the following day from the Bronx: Date: Tue, 26 Jul 2005 14:12:26 GMT NNTP-Posting-Host: 24.45.216.80 Under Subject: Chess and Supreme Court I wrote "I will have to post this one on my website too." This service should make it more easy to catch the fake posters. Sam Sloan It's not dependable just like any other IP locator. I just used it and it says that I'm located in Dallas, Texas. I'm in the midwest but not in Texas. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sam Sloan wrote:
I am intrigued by the potential of http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. Don't trust it over much. Doublecheck it against a competing service, such as MaxMind GeoIP City. GeoBytes says I am in Uppsala, Sweden -- which is off by 550 kilometers. Don't know how they got that. Maxmind at least gets the city right. -- Anders Thulin ath*algonet.se http://www.algonet.se/~ath |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sam Sloan wrote: I am intrigued by the potential of http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. For example, yesterday I was able to use this service to establish that Neil Brennen had posted a fake anonymous biography of me. If that is so, then by the same logic Larry Parr, "Jr" and "Cynic" are all the same person, as they generally show the same NNTP-Posting-Host. Yet they insist otherwise, and apparently it is possible for different people to show the same host ID if they all happen to access the web through the same Netscape server, according to a recent post by Liam Too. So I'm not sure if the 68.84.120.191 host ID indicates Brennen or just someone else logging on via Yahoo. |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sam Sloan wrote:
In addition to trying to identify the fake posters who posted more than one hundred fake messages under my name during the recent election period, I would like to identify several fake posters who inhabited this group in the past. Among them a Dr. Rev. Calvin Hindoo Qusz Jr. SlamStoan The Old Professor Liam The Dirty Vicar The Masked Bishop It has been widely suspected that the identies of some of them are Jim Eade, Tim Hanke, Jerry Graham and possibly Bruce Draney, but this has never been proven. Sam Sloan Sam, I hope you know that Liam and Liam Too are two separate and distinct persons. Liam is John Smith and Liam Too is Lance Smith. Lance |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Sam Sloan" wrote in message ... Dr. Rev. Calvin Hindoo Qusz Jr. --Kevin Bachler The Dirty Vicar --Frank Niro |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sam Sloan wrote: I am intrigued by the potential of http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. For example, yesterday I was able to use this service to establish that Neil Brennen had posted a fake anonymous biography of me. Where was this "fake anonymous" biography posted? And more importantly, under what screen name? I've been using "The Historian" as a handle for a few months now. |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
On 4 Aug 2005 15:56:03 -0700, "The Historian"
wrote: Sam Sloan wrote: I am intrigued by the potential of http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. For example, yesterday I was able to use this service to establish that Neil Brennen had posted a fake anonymous biography of me. Where was this "fake anonymous" biography posted? And more importantly, under what screen name? I've been using "The Historian" as a handle for a few months now. Sure. You posted it right he http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?...did=2010 3784 Note your ID 68.84.120.191 You did not use a screen name. You then reposted what you wrote to this group under Salamalaikum from kalash velley Chitral and added the comment "Did Sloan write this? It sounds like someone is mocking him." All and all a typical sneaky and despicable act, so characteristic of Neil Brennen. Sam Sloan |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sam Sloan wrote: On 4 Aug 2005 15:56:03 -0700, "The Historian" wrote: Sam Sloan wrote: I am intrigued by the potential of http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation for locating false posters. For example, yesterday I was able to use this service to establish that Neil Brennen had posted a fake anonymous biography of me. Where was this "fake anonymous" biography posted? And more importantly, under what screen name? I've been using "The Historian" as a handle for a few months now. Sure. You posted it right he http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?...did=2010 3784 That is Wikipedia, a website that asks that people in the know correct errors. The biographical entry had some errors, so I corrected them. Note your ID 68.84.120.191 You did not use a screen name. Since it's not a newsgroup, I don't see how I could have used a screen name. You then reposted what you wrote to this group under Salamalaikum from kalash velley Chitral and added the comment "Did Sloan write this? It sounds like someone is mocking him." Yes, I wrote that. All and all a typical sneaky and despicable act, so characteristic of Neil Brennen. So posting corrections to Wikipedia is "sneaky and despicable"? |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|