![]() |
| If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. |
|
|||||||
| Tags: adrian, daly |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Adrian Daly ] has apparently harvested
information from a posting to a chessnewsgroup, and has consequently sent stock-market spam to an e-mail account that I don't make publicly known, because it is an account for my employment. I discovered this today when checking my office e-mails before working hours. David Ames. |
| Ads |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
David Ames wrote:
Adrian Daly ] has apparently harvested information from a posting to a chessnewsgroup, and has consequently sent stock-market spam to an e-mail account that I don't make publicly known, because it is an account for my employment. I discovered this today when checking my office e-mails before working hours. I'm confused. If you haven't made this address public, how can anyone have harvested it from a chess newsgroup? Posting an E-mail address to a newsgroup or web page is most definitely `making it publicly known'. Oh, and the answer to your question would appear to be `A spammer'. Dave. -- David Richerby Technicolor Disposable Chicken (TM): www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ it's like a farm animal but you never have to clean it and it's in realistic colour! |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
David Richerby wrote: David Ames wrote: Adrian Daly ] has apparently harvested information from a posting to a chessnewsgroup, and has consequently sent stock-market spam to an e-mail account that I don't make publicly known, because it is an account for my employment. I discovered this today when checking my office e-mails before working hours. I'm confused. If you haven't made this address public, how can anyone have harvested it from a chess newsgroup? Posting an E-mail address to a newsgroup or web page is most definitely `making it publicly known'. Yes, and I am puzzled for the same reason. It would seem that, because I post from an office computer and connect through a server 500 miles away, the offender directs his spam to the server's IP address and somehow gets it to my e-mail account there. Oh, and the answer to your question would appear to be `A spammer'. Cela se voit. David Ames David Richerby Technicolor Disposable Chicken (TM): www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ it's like a farm animal but you never have to clean it and it's in realistic colour! |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
CeeBee wrote: "David Ames" wrote in rec.games.chess.misc: Adrian Daly ] has apparently harvested information from a posting to a chessnewsgroup, and has consequently sent stock-market spam to an e-mail account that I don't make publicly known, because it is an account for my employment. I discovered this today when checking my office e-mails before working hours. Who cares who Adrian Daly is? We all know what Adrian Daly is. I am seeking information about Adrian Daly and his activities. He uses a valid domain name 0-0-0chackmate.com indicating some kind of chess association. Your dismissive remark is duly noted. Adrian Daly is a spammer, and - as any spammer - sends out millions of spam mails every day. He starts with: , , and eventualy . If you work at DingDongWorks he'll send a thousand mails to , or whatever. My external ID contains more than one non-alphabetic character. There is no reasonable way that Adrian Daly can guess this particular external ID. The method you describe is well known. He uses thousands of different names and one time e-mail addresses, ranging from to Adrian Daly can't harvest your address from chess newsgroups if you don't make that address publicly known in chess newsgroups. If you don't make it publicly known, Adrian Daly can't harvest it from where it isn't. On information and belief (see my response to David Richerby) I think otherwise. Adrian Daly is a spammer, not a clairvoyant. Welcome to Internet. Thanks anyway, but I've been rummaging around the Internet for a few years now. David Ames -- CeeBee *** The Cookie Has Spoken *** |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
CeeBee wrote: This is a chess newsgroup. -- CeeBee *** The Cookie Has Spoken *** Do you know, does anyone know, anything about a supposed CHESSPLAYER Adrian Daly? That's what I'm asking. And I find your annoyance to be annoying. David Ames |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
David Ames wrote:
David Richerby wrote: I'm confused. If you haven't made this address public, how can anyone have harvested it from a chess newsgroup? Yes, and I am puzzled for the same reason. It would seem that, because I post from an office computer and connect through a server 500 miles away, the offender directs his spam to the server's IP address and somehow gets it to my e-mail account there. That is not how E-mail works. If you're sure you've never published the E-mail address in question, there are three options, in roughly decreasing order of likelihood. 1) You're the victim of a dictionary attack. Spammers guess plausible E-mail addresses so is likely to get spam even if he has never published the address. A friend who runs the mail server of a large UK university says they get about 100,000 of these messages every day, even after filtering out the most obvious spam. 2) You gave the E-mail address to a company for genuine reasons and they sold it, either directly to the spammer or to somebody who sold it to them. 3) You're mistaken. Perhaps you posted to a mailing list from that address and it was archived on the web or something like that. Dave. -- David Richerby Love Pants (TM): it's like a www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ well-tailored pair of trousers that you can share with someone special! |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
CeeBee wrote:
David Ames wrote in rec.games.chess.misc: And I find your annoyance to be annoying. I do what I can, thanks. Now scram with your spam. David isn't spamming because he isn't posting in bulk. Spam does not mean `mail/news posts that I don't like'. Dave. -- David Richerby Miniature Soap (TM): it's like a www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ personal hygiene product but you can hold in it your hand! |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
CeeBee wrote: David Richerby wrote in rec.games.chess.misc: David isn't spamming because he isn't posting in bulk. Spam does not mean `mail/news posts that I don't like'. Good. You call his off topic junk anything your textbook allows. -- CeeBee You are letting your heart run away with your head. *I* was the one who set the topic: "Who is ..." YOU went off-topic immediately by giving the answer to the question "What is ..." You don't add to the discussion. You only rant and insult. You keep doing it. This thread would have amounted to nothing at all if you would have just shut up. I suggest looking at the title of this newsgroup. It stands for Recreation. Games. Chess.MISCELLANEOUS. It is exactly the right place for a question about a chessplayer which does not concern politics, analysis, or computers Have a nice day, or else -- that is, or else don't. The choice is yours. David Ames |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
David Ames wrote:
I suggest looking at the title of this newsgroup. It stands for Recreation. Games. Chess.MISCELLANEOUS. It is exactly the right place for a question about a chessplayer which does not concern politics, analysis, or computers But, as we've said, there's a vanishingly small probability that the guy even exists, let alone plays chess. Still, it seems to me to have been a legitimate question and it's one small thread so it doesn't matter all that much that it's off-topic. And, CeeBee, get a grip. If it wasn't for your ranting about how off-topic this all is, the thread would be only a third the size. You know that proverb about three fingers pointing back at yourself when you point at somebody? Go think about it. Dave. -- David Richerby Disposable Incredible Bulb (TM): it's www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ like a light bulb but it'll blow your mind and you never have to clean it! |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|