A Chess forum. ChessBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » ChessBanter forum » Chess Newsgroups » rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General)
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Tags: , , ,

The Real Sam Sloan, Please Answer



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 16th 06, 12:27 PM posted to rec.games.chess.politics,rec.games.chess.misc
Sam Sloan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,558
Default The Real Sam Sloan, Please Answer

On 13 Sep 2006 13:32:59 -0700, Paul Rubin
wrote:

writes:
Then let's have The Real Sam tell us that from ishipress.com. Until
then, I consider all others to be fake.


Mike, you're missing the point. You have to consider EVERY message
claiming to be from Sam to be a possible fake, whether it says
ishipress.com on it or not. I think there have been some faked
messages from the ishipress.com address, though I haven't kept careful
track.

There are still some header fields the forger(s) doesn't seem to have
figured out how to fake, but the hostname isn't one of them.


OK. I am responding, but Paul Rubin is correct. The fact that a
posting comes from does not prove that it is from
the real me, as that address is trivially easy to fake.

A better way would be to look at the NNTP Posting Host, which until
recently was:
NNTP-Posting-Host: 68.199.110.255

However, it seems to have changed, although I have not moved or
changed ISPs. Now, it seems to be:

NNTP-Posting-Host: 69.120.148.215

That is very difficult to fake.

The overwhelming majority of postings by "Sam Sloan" recently have
been fake, so I believe that you should assume that all of them are
fake unless they obviously come from me.

I am disappointed that Michael Atkins, a fairly experienced poster,
has just twice responded to Fake Sam Sloan postings.

Please note that a new Fake Sam Sloan has just appeared, who seems to
be posting from Australia.

The Real Sam Sloan
Ads
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul Truong is the Fake Sam Sloan mikeNOSPAM@theopenfile.com rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 13 August 3rd 06 05:50 AM
Paul Truong is the Fake Sam Sloan mikeNOSPAM@theopenfile.com alt.chess (Alternative Chess Group) 12 August 3rd 06 05:50 AM
Paul Truong is the Fake Sam Sloan BarbaraVilliers rec.games.chess.politics (Chess Politics) 0 August 1st 06 01:33 PM
Paul Truong is the Fake Sam Sloan BarbaraVilliers rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 0 August 1st 06 01:33 PM
Paul Truong is the Fake Sam Sloan BarbaraVilliers alt.chess (Alternative Chess Group) 0 August 1st 06 01:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0
Copyright ©2004-2008 ChessBanter, part of the NewsgroupBanter project.
The comments are property of their posters.
The eBay Song - Per Insurance - Electricity Suppliers - Free Wordpress Blogs Hosting - Remortgaging