LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Old August 2nd 11, 01:36 PM posted to,,alt.chess
external usenet poster
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: May 2006
Posts: 14,870
Default Zoom 001 Zero Hour for Operative Chess Opening Models

This is the groundbreaking cult classic by the Legendary Grandmaster
Bent Larsen and the noted openings theoretician Steffen Zeuthen.
ZOOM 001 stands for Zero Hour for Operative Opening Models. The
principal idea behind ZOOM 001 is the creation of “pattern knowledge”
of typical middle game/endgame structures—one of a grandmaster’s
essential qualities—cultivated through the use of the Grunfeld and
Catalan openings. Using twenty modern Grandmasters' games, the authors
show how these structures typically arise. Included are games by
Andersson, Botvinnik, Fischer, Korchnoi, and of course Larsen.

By using complete games instead of variations that might be outdated
by the next tournament, Larsen and Zeuthen demonstrate that pattern
recognition is a timeless skill. By recognizing these typical
patterns, you will not only gain a feel for the position, but will be
able to effectively form a game plan that will allow you to carry you
to won positions.
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound and Fury in Polgarland B. Lafferty[_6_] (Chess Politics) 3 December 15th 08 09:20 AM
First Draft: Blue Book Encyclopedia of Chess samsloan (Chess Analysis) 4 February 16th 08 03:46 PM
An old article about early chess computers! Quite amusing rant. [email protected] (Computer Chess) 0 January 21st 07 06:32 AM FAQ [2/4] [email protected] (Chess General) 0 February 4th 06 05:25 AM

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2019 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.

About Us

"It's about Chess"


Copyright © 2017