Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Old December 24th 07, 11:06 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc, rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,977
Default My(?) new chess variant

Use the standard chessboard, and the standard set
of pieces. At the beginning of the game each player
keeps her/his pieces on the table, between her/himself
and the board.

Players make moves alternatively. White starts.
A move consist of either setting a piece from the
table onto an empty square or of making a standard
chess move, except that there is no notion of castling
in this variant. Pawns can be set only on rows 2-7.
It's illegal to set your king on a square exposed to
capturing. If you capture an opponent piece then you
keep it (your opponent cannot use it anymore). If you
didn't set your king on the board yet then it is illegal
for you to deliver a checkmate. If your king is not
on the board, and you have no legal move then
you lost (very unlikely, because most probably
you can set legally your king on an empty square);
if you can't make a legal move but your king is on the
board, then it is a draw. If you deliver a check mate,
when your king is on the board, then you win.

Here, just for illustration, is a trivial example
(* = table):

1.R*-a7 K*-c8?
2.Ktbl-e1 Kc8-b8???
3.R*-a8 check mate

Enjoy,

Wlod
  #2   Report Post  
Old December 24th 07, 01:50 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jun 2005
Posts: 123
Default My(?) new chess variant




Wlodzimierz Holsztynski Wlod wrote:

Use the standard chessboard, and the standard set
of pieces. At the beginning of the game each player
keeps her/his pieces on the table, between her/himself
and the board.

Players make moves alternatively. White starts.
A move consist of either setting a piece from the
table onto an empty square or of making a standard
chess move, except that there is no notion of castling
in this variant. Pawns can be set only on rows 2-7.
It's illegal to set your king on a square exposed to
capturing. If you capture an opponent piece then you
keep it (your opponent cannot use it anymore). If you
didn't set your king on the board yet then it is illegal
for you to deliver a checkmate. If your king is not
on the board, and you have no legal move then
you lost (very unlikely, because most probably
you can set legally your king on an empty square);
if you can't make a legal move but your king is on the
board, then it is a draw. If you deliver a check mate,
when your king is on the board, then you win.


What does black do if White

1) promotes any pawn that can be promoted without being recaptured,

2) otherwise puts pawns on a7,h7,b7,f7,c7,e7,d7?


  #3   Report Post  
Old December 25th 07, 12:20 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc, rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,977
Default My(?) new chess variant

On Dec 24, 5:50 am, wrote:


What does black do if White

1) promotes any pawn that can be promoted without being recaptured,

2) otherwise puts pawns on a7,h7,b7,f7,c7,e7,d7?


I am afraid that I don't understand your question.

Let me just clarify one thing about
promotion. One may imagine that the promoted
pawn is still on the board but with letter Q or R
or B or N painted on it, when it is promoted
to Queen or Rook or Bishop or Knight respectively.

In reality, we often replace the promoted pawn
physically by a respective piece. But then that
physical pawn which is off the board cannot be put
on the board anymore.

Please, try to rephrase your question, and I will
do my best to understand you.

Regards,

Wlod
  #4   Report Post  
Old December 25th 07, 07:27 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jun 2005
Posts: 123
Default My(?) new chess variant




Wlodzimierz Holsztynski Wlod wrote:

wrote:


What does black do if White

1) promotes any pawn that can be promoted without being recaptured,

2) otherwise puts pawns on a7,h7,b7,f7,c7,e7,d7?


I am afraid that I don't understand your question.

Let me just clarify one thing about
promotion. One may imagine that the promoted
pawn is still on the board but with letter Q or R
or B or N painted on it, when it is promoted
to Queen or Rook or Bishop or Knight respectively.

In reality, we often replace the promoted pawn
physically by a respective piece. But then that
physical pawn which is off the board cannot be put
on the board anymore.

Please, try to rephrase your question, and I will
do my best to understand you.


White starts by placing a pawn on a7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is a7-a8(Q) if doing so is safe
for the queen. If not, white places a pawn on h7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on b7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on f7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on c7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on e7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on d7.

What reply would you make as Black?

Hints:

Blocking the pawns doesn't work. You end up with every
blocker attacked by two pawns.

Attacking the pawns doesn't work. It takes two moves to
take the pawn on a7 (place them capture) allowing the pawn
on f7 to promote to a queen

Placing black pawns on a2-f2 doesn't work. White is always
a step ahead and ends up with a queen up.





--
Guy Macon
http://www.guymacon.com/

  #5   Report Post  
Old December 25th 07, 11:08 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
Default My(?) new chess variant

On 2007-12-25, wrote:
....
White starts by placing a pawn on a7.

What reply would you make as Black?


1 ... Qa8


--
Chris F.A. Johnson, webmaster http://Woodbine-Gerrard.com
================================================== =================
Author:
Shell Scripting Recipes: A Problem-Solution Approach (2005, Apress)


  #6   Report Post  
Old December 25th 07, 11:27 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jun 2005
Posts: 123
Default My(?) new chess variant



Chris F.A. Johnson wrote:

wrote:
...
White starts by placing a pawn on a7.

What reply would you make as Black?


1 ... Qa8


2 White places a pawn on f7 As described below.

What reply would you make as Black?

Note: if your move consists of putting anything on
f8, the reply will be "White places a pawn on b7."


1 a7 Qa8
2 f7

**********************************


White starts by placing a pawn on a7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is a7-a8(Q) if doing so is safe
for the queen. If not, white places a pawn on h7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on b7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on f7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on c7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on e7.

What reply would you make as Black?

White's next move is to promote one of his pawns to
a queen if doing so is safe for the queen. If not,
white places a pawn on d7.

What reply would you make as Black?

Hints:

Blocking the pawns doesn't work. You end up with every
blocker attacked by two pawns.

Attacking the pawns doesn't work. It takes two moves to
take the pawn on a7 (place them capture) allowing the pawn
on f7 to promote to a queen

Placing black pawns on a2-f2 doesn't work. White is always
a step ahead and ends up with a queen up.


  #8   Report Post  
Old December 26th 07, 03:26 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jun 2005
Posts: 123
Default My(?) new chess variant




Chris F.A. Johnson wrote:

wrote:

Chris F.A. Johnson wrote:

wrote:
...
White starts by placing a pawn on a7.

What reply would you make as Black?

1 ... Qa8


2 White places a pawn on f7 As described below.

What reply would you make as Black?

Note: if your move consists of putting anything on
f8, the reply will be "White places a pawn on b7."


1 a7 Qa8
2 f7


2 ... Rf8

Your move.


What part of "if your move consists of putting anything on
f8, the reply will be "White places a pawn on b7." are you
having trouble understanding?

It's YOUR move, not mine.

  #10   Report Post  
Old December 26th 07, 06:02 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.analysis
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jun 2005
Posts: 123
Default My(?) new chess variant



Chris F.A. Johnson wrote:

3 Qxa7


1 a7 Qa8
2 f7 Rf8
3 Qxa7 f7-f8(Q)
4

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rec.games.chess.misc FAQ [2/4] [email protected] rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 0 February 19th 06 05:44 AM
Wikipedia Biography of Eric Schiller Sam Sloan alt.chess (Alternative Chess Group) 2 December 22nd 05 08:02 PM
rec.games.chess.misc FAQ [2/4] [email protected] rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 0 November 3rd 05 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Chess"

 

Copyright © 2017