Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Old January 13th 07, 04:51 PM posted to rec.games.chess.politics,rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.computer,alt.chess,soc.culture.magyar
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: May 2006
Posts: 14,870
Default Response to Ethics Complaint by Herbert Rodney Vaughn

Response to Ethics Complaint by Herbert Rodney Vaughn

Herbert Rodney Vaughn has filed a 400 page ethics complaint against me.
I think the length of the complaint speaks for itself. For reasons
unknown to me, Mr. Vaughn has been obsessed with me for some time. He
has been attacking me on the USCF Forum at
http://www.uschess.org/forums under the fake name of tanstaafl for the
last one year, with around one thousand personal attacks on me. He has
also filled up Susan Polgar's Blog at
http://www.susanpolgar.blogspot.com with attacks on me. He got himself
certified as a delegate from Ohio (improperly in my opinion) and tied
up the delegate's meetings in Chicago held on August 12-13, 2006 with
attacks on me. I have no idea why he does this. I had never met the man
prior to the meetings in Chicago and I have never in my life had any
dealings with him.

The ethics complaint by Herbert Rodney Vaughn is entirely frivolous and
can be refuted without much difficulty. Fortunately, the Ethics
Committee has made my job easier by already dismissing 11 of the
sixteen counts of his complaint, even before it got to me. I will now
deal with the remaining five.

The counts over which the Ethics Committee accepted jurisdiction were
1A, 3, 4, 5, and 13.

Here are my responses:

Count 1A
"Lying to the Delegates"

Vaughn states "The delegates were promised that the situation with
regard to Mr. Sloan's website would be corrected. "

I made no such promise. I am proud of my website, which is very
informative as to chess related issues. It is one of the leading chess
websites on the Internet. There is no doubt that because of my website,
I was elected.

It is true that my website contains non-chess controversial material,
but all media outlets, in order to keep up with the fierce competition
provided by the Internet, must venture into areas previously considered
forbidden territory. The New York Times, for example, has started
publishing photographs and materials which were considered to be
pornographic, such as its article "The Graying Of Naughty" by Sharon
Waxman, published on December 31, 2006. Discussions about this article
involving hard-core pornography have been featured on CNN TV News
during the past few days.

The issue has been raised on the USCF Forums. In a posting under the
heading "Korenman and other things removed from Lux thread", Joel
Channing wrote on December 15, 2006, "In all fairness, Sam never
promised me anything directly. The "promise" was relayed through a
third party whom I consider credible. Joel"

I have asked the only third party I know of who might have made such a
statement, and he has denied that he had ever said any such thing.
Thus, the complaint is without basis.

Count 3
Accusations Against USCF Employee, Standards

I was informed by several persons, including one member of the USCF
Executive Board, that Jay Sabine and a team of high school students had
been involved in moving the USCF from New Windsor, New York to
Crossville, Tennessee. As a result of my postings, inquiries were made
and it was determined that, although there was active discussion of a
proposal that Jay Sabine and his high school students would make the
move, this plan was never actually carried out.

As a result, I promptly apologized for this incorrect statement about
Jay Sabine. I posted my apology on the USCF Forums.

As to my other statements about most USCF records being lost or
destroyed, my posting accurately reflects what was stated by Bill Hall
and Bill Goichberg during the closed session of the USCF Board on
August 14, 2006. I request that this Ethics Committee obtain a tape
recording of that meeting and play it back and you will see that what I
have reported is exactly what was said at the meeting. The discussion
of the lost or missing records was lengthy and lasted at least 45
minutes.

The USCF office still cannot locate most of the records. For example,
for the last five months I have been requesting a copy of the contract
that Frank Niro signed with Susan Polgar to write a column for Chess
Life. This contract is important now that Miss Polgar has declared
herself to be a candidate for election. The office still has not been
able to find that contract.

Count 4
Violations of the Confidentiality of a Closed Session

What Vaughn is complaining about is the following sentence in a lengthy
statement by me about the so-called "Picturegate Affair".

"I have quoted correctly and accurately both what Bill Hall said in as
closed session of the board to the effect that very little from the
USCF offices in New Windsor ever reached Crossville and Bill
Goichberg's responses to that statement,"

Again, as in Count 3 above, you will see if you play back the tape that
what I wrote was correct and accurate.

Vaughn claims that this was confidential and should have been kept
secret.

I disagree. Confidential matters are restricted to litigation and
employee salaries. Almost nothing else is confidential. The members
have the legal right to know that the records are lost or missing. I
was not willing to become a participant in the conspiracy to keep this
information a secret from the members. Therefore, my posting which
revealed the true situation was entirely correct and proper.

Count 5
Use of the BINFO System to advertise a book

Vaughn claims that by notifying the board that I had reprinted a chess
book, "Collection of Chess Studies" by A. A. Troitzky, I was using the
BINFO System, to advertise a book.

BINFO stands for "Board Information". The BINFO System is essentially a
email group where emails sent by board members to each other are
preserved.

Recently, at my request and at the requests of other board members,
non-board members have been allowed to read the BINFOS.

Mr. Vaughn is one of the very few outsiders who spend time reading
these BINFOS. It is in part because of my insistence that the
governance process be opened up that Mr. Vaughn is able to read these
BINFOS. It is absurd that Mr. Vaughn would claim that by notifying the
other six board members that I have reprinted an old chess book, that
this would constitute advertising. I reprinted this book at the request
of Grandmaster Pal Benko, so that Grandmaster Benko could write a
series of articles which have since then been appearing in Chess Life
magazine. It was appropriate for me to inform the other members of the
board of this.

Count 13
Personal Attacks on Susan Polgar in the BINFO System, Standards

It is unfortunate that Mr. Vaughn has made an issue over this,
following the fact that Mr. Bill Goichberg previously made an issue
over this, because neither of them are aware of what they are getting
into or that they are acting like a Bull in a China Shop. I was for
practical purposes the boyfriend of Zsuzsa Polgar, to the extent that
she had a boyfriend, for six months in 1986. I traveled with her,
played in chess tournaments with her and stayed in her home in Budapest
during this period. This relationship started in April, 1986 and
extended through October, 1986. There was never a break in relations.
What ended this aspect of our relationship was that my brother,
Creighton, started litigation with my mother, which left us stranded in
Rio Gallegos Argentina after the conclusion of the World Under-16 Chess
Championship, in which Sophia and Judit Polgar had played. Because my
mother and I temporarily could not leave Argentina, we had to say
goodbye to the Polgars and, although she wrote me a few letters, my
relationship with Zsuzsa never resumed after that.

Our relationship started immediately on or after her 17th birthday. The
dates are important but are easy to remember and verify because of the
many chess tournaments in which we played together during those months.
Our relationship started right after the 1986 New York Open, which was
held March 30 to April 7, 1986. The relationship started due to a
coincidence caused by a flight delay.

The 1986 New York Open was the first time that Laszlo Polgar, Susan's
father, had ever reached America. Previously, Mr. Polgar had not been
able to obtain a US visa, for the same reasons that most Hungarians
were not able to get a visa, which was that they feared that he would
overstay.

When the US Embassy was finally convinced that Mr. Polgar really was a
legitimate tourist, they gave him a visa. Prior to that time, Susan had
visited the United States accompanied only by her mother. I had first
met Susan at an invitational Goichberg tournament at the Manhattan
Chess Club in November, 1985. She lost to Mark Ginzberg in a Lucena
position on the first day that I met her. The next time I came to see
her, she lost a long game to Yehuda Gruenfeld. As a result, Susan
disliked me at first, because every time I came to see her, she lost
her chess game.

Her mother, Klara, however, liked me. We next met at the 1986 National
Open in Las Vegas. I told them that I worked in computers. Klara told
me that her husband was very interested in computers and would be very
anxious to meet me when he was finally able to come to the US.

That turned out to be the 1986 New York Open. Laszlo Polgar told me
there that he was very interested in buying what he called the "Rare
Computer". I told him not to waste his money on unusual off-brands. He
should buy IBM PC compatibles or else Apple MacIntosh. Nevertheless,
Laszlo doggedly insisted that he must have the Rare Computer and
nothing else.

I had never heard of the Rare Computer, but after several days of
discussions about this, Laszlo Polgar refused to budge. He absolutely
must have the Rare Computer. I was later to learn that this is a
characteristic of Laszlo Polgar. He will not listen to reason. Once he
makes up his mind about something, he will never change it.

Finally, out of frustration, trying to deal with this bull dog of a
man, I just decided to buy him a computer with my own money. I called a
computer company in Texas, ordered a $2000 computer with my credit
card, and they agreed to ship it to the address of the Polgars in
Hungary. Laszlo Polgar was very happy, because he is always willing to
take anything offered for free.

After the New York Open, Susan told me that they were scheduled to fly
to Los Angeles, where Hal Bogner had scheduled for Susan to give a
simultaneous exhibition. I agreed to meet them when they came back and
to help them get to the airport, as I had a car.

When they returned a week later I was shocked to learn that they had
never made it to Los Angeles. Just after I had last spoken to them at
the New York Penta Hotel, they had been approached by a man named
Shiloh Quinn, who had told them that he would bring them millions of
dollars in sponsorship money if they would accompany him to Montreal.
As a result, they had called Hal Bogner and told him to cancel the
simultaneous exhibition, because they could not come to Los Angeles.

In Montreal, Shiloh Quinn has gotten them to agree to give him Sophia
Polgar, who was 11 years old at the time. Actually, Shiloh Quinn had
wanted Zsuzsa. However, they were not willing to give up Zsuzsa, but
they were willing to give up Sophia, so they had left Sophia with
Shiloh Quinn, and had returned to New York without her. Laszlo Polgar
said that this was OK, because Shiloh Quinn had a Hungarian wife.

At JFK Airport, they were scheduled to take different flights back to
Budapest. The reason for this was that Jose Cuxchi, the organizer of
the New York Open, had given Zsuzsa Polgar, her mother, Klara, and the
two sisters, Sophia and Judit, free tickets from Budapest to New York
on Iberia Airlines, with a stop-over in Madrid, Spain. However, he had
not given a free ticket to Laszlo Polgar. Therefore, Laszlo Polgar had
bought his own ticket on Malev, the Hungarian Airline.

However, Laszlo Polgar had never been to Spain before and he wanted to
go there. Therefore, in New York, he had made a deal with the airlines
to switch tickets with Zsuzsa. She would fly back directly to Budapest
on Malev, and he along with Klara and Judit would fly back to Budapest
in Iberia Airlines, with a stopover in Spain.

This was especially convenient because the Malev flight was scheduled
to leave JFK Asirport two hours before the Iberia Airlines flight, so
they would be with Susan until she caught her flight.

A serious problem, however, arose when the Malev flight was delayed due
to mechanical problems.

This meant that Laszlo, Klara and Judit Polgar had to leave on a flight
before Zsuzsa left. They had no choice in the matter. The tickets were
non-refundable promotional tickets provided by Jose Cuchi. They could
not afford to stay behind in New York, and it was too late to change
the tickets back to the way that they originally were, with Lazslo
flying on Malev and Zsuzsa flying on Iberia Airlines.

Therefore, when flight time came, they had no choice in the matter, but
to leave. Laszlo, Klara and Judit bordered the Iberia Airlines flight
to Spain, leaving Zsuzsa alone in JFK Airport with me, Sam Sloan.

It so happened that this was exactly Zsuzsa's 17th birthday. Zsuzsa
Polgar was born on April 19, 1969. The New York Open concluded on April
8, 1986. After that, they flew to Montreal, stayed for a week and flew
back to New York. So, this was exactly Susan's 17th birthday, or else
was the day after, I cannot remember which. I mention this because I
have been accused of getting involved with Susan when she was 16 years
old, but actually she was 17 at the time.

Shortly after Laszlo, Klara and Judit had departed on Iberia Airlines,
the representative of Malev Airlines came by. He said that, as the
flight had been delayed, he was offering a courtesy hotel room at
airline expense. I did not yet know Susan well, and she did not speak
much English, so I do not believe that I even asked her. I just asked
the airline representative when the flight was expected to leave. He
said that it would be only a few hours longer. So, without thinking or
asking Susan, I said that we would just wait in the airport, because a
few hours was no big deal.

What I did not yet realize was that Zsuzsa was the most protected girl
in the world. She was so protected that she could not even go to the
woman's restroom alone. Her mother would have to accompany her. Her
parents were terrified that she would meet a boy somewhere and fall in
love. As her parents did not work, Susan was the bread winner of the
family, supporting the family through her chess tournament winnings.
There was no way that they were going to allow her to go anywhere or to
be anywhere alone.

Suddenly, due to the delayed flight, for the first time in her entire
life, Zsuzsa was alone with a man, namely me.

Two months later, I went to Hungary. On my arrival in Budapest, I was
immediately invited to stay as a guest in the Polgar home. I was
shocked to learn that the computer I had purchased for them to be
shipped from Texas was still in the customs warehouse in Budapest.
Laszlo Polgar and I went to the customs warehouse. I paid some small
fees and the customs people released the computer to us. We took the
computer to the Polgar apartment.

I spent the next two days setting up the computer, organizing it and
putting files on it. It was unlike computers nowadays where everything
comes pre-installed. I was working on developing a computer chess
program called Rex Chess which I had entered into the World Computer
Chess Championship to be played the following month in Cologne,
Germany.

I was shocked when, two days after the computer had arrived, Laszlo
Polgar brought two men to the apartment to buy it. They said that they
had wanted the "Rare Computer" and were not entirely happy with this
other type of computer that Laszlo Polgar had. I then learned that the
Rare Computer was a brand name of a computer, and they had ordered it
from Laszlo. I have never been able to find a computer with that brand
name, however.

Finally, they agreed to buy the computer for $7,000. I was not happy. I
had bought the computer for the three Polgar Sisters. I had imagined
them to be geniuses, not the chess playing autonomons that they
actually turned out to be. I had dreams of them learning computer
programming and making a positive contribution to society. That is the
reason I had bought them the computer. I had not realized that the plan
all along had been to sell it for profit.

However, it would have been pointless for me to protest. If I had
stopped them from selling it while I was there, they would just wait
until I was not there, and then sell it. So, I said nothing about it.

After they got the $7,000 from selling the computer, they invited me to
accompany them to an International Chess Tournament in Albena,
Bulgaria. Zsuzsa won the tournament and I had one of the best results
of my life. I then accompanied Susan and her family over the next
several months to chess tournaments in Copenhagen, Denmark, San Juan,
Puerto Rico and Rio Gallegos, Argentina. I personally arranged the
tickets for the five of them and me to fly to Argentina.

I will leave out the details, some of which are seamy, except that I
will say that my remark about which Herbert Rodney Vaughn now files his
ethics complaint is entirely accurate.

I must add, however, that my remark was in response to a motion to
censure me made by Bill Goichberg. That motion by Goichberg consisted
of five parts, all of which had to do with my relationship with Susan
Polgar. Bill probably did not even know that I had ever had a
relationship with Susan Polgar. That is why I said that, in making his
motion, Bill was acting like a bull in a China Shop. All these past
twenty-one years, I have avoided publicly revealing the facts that I
have just set forth above.

Goichberg implied that this was a motion made by the USCF Attorney,
Michael Matsler. This is misleading. After the election votes were
counted and I had won the election on July 20, 2006, Bill Goichberg
wrote five letters to Michael Matsler, basically asking how he could
get rid of Sam Sloan, either by preventing me from taking office or by
removing me from office. Bill Goichberg also wrote a strongly worded
board motion attacking me over the Polgar Affair. Michael Matsler wrote
back with a much milder motion than the one written by Goichberg. Even
the relatively mildly worded motion by Matsler required me to respond.
I was thinking of making a much stronger response, but finally I
decided to make the delicately worded one-sentence response that I did,
which is the subject of this ethics complaint.

Obviously, you can figure out that I have just started to tell the full
story about what happened between me and Susan Polgar in 1986. If
Goichberg, Vaughn and Susan herself do not stop attacking me almost
daily over this, I may eventually have to tell the whole story and
write a book about it, but I am avoiding doing that for the time being.

Thus, I have answered all five of the remaining counts of the Ethics
Complaint filed by Herbert Rodney Vaughn. I believe that I have
satisfactorily addressed all these issues and that indeed I have
demonstrated that the ethics complaint is entirely frivolous. Again, I
request that the Ethics Committee obtain a tape or a transcript of the
Executive Board meeting on August 14, 2006. After reviewing that tape
or transcript, you will be able to see that everything I have written
on that subject is correct and accurate.

I realize that Bill Goichberg and perhaps some other members of the
board will try to prevent the Ethics Committee from obtaining that tape
or transcript, but I feel that you should insist on obtaining it due to
the circumstances of this case.

In compliance with the request of the Ethics Committee, I am not
responding to the other 11 counts which have already been dismissed,
although otherwise I would have a lot to say about them as well.

Dated: Bronx, New York
January 5, 2007
Respectfully Submitted,



Sam Sloan

Sworn to before me this 5th
Day of January, 2007


_______________________
NOTARY PUBLIC

  #2   Report Post  
Old January 13th 07, 09:22 PM posted to rec.games.chess.politics,rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.computer,alt.chess,soc.culture.magyar
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jun 2005
Posts: 662
Default The author, Sam Sloan, is endorsed by Dr. Leroy Dubeck and Larry Parr

samsloan wrote:
Response to Ethics Complaint by Herbert Rodney Vaughn


[...]


Count 13
Personal Attacks on Susan Polgar in the BINFO System, Standards

It is unfortunate that Mr. Vaughn has made an issue over this,
following the fact that Mr. Bill Goichberg previously made an issue
over this, because neither of them are aware of what they are getting
into or that they are acting like a Bull in a China Shop. I was for
practical purposes the boyfriend of Zsuzsa Polgar, to the extent that
she had a boyfriend, for six months in 1986. I traveled with her,
played in chess tournaments with her and stayed in her home in Budapest
during this period. This relationship started in April, 1986 and
extended through October, 1986. There was never a break in relations.
What ended this aspect of our relationship was that my brother,
Creighton, started litigation with my mother, which left us stranded in
Rio Gallegos Argentina after the conclusion of the World Under-16 Chess
Championship, in which Sophia and Judit Polgar had played. Because my
mother and I temporarily could not leave Argentina, we had to say
goodbye to the Polgars and, although she wrote me a few letters, my
relationship with Zsuzsa never resumed after that.

Our relationship started immediately on or after her 17th birthday. The
dates are important but are easy to remember and verify because of the
many chess tournaments in which we played together during those months.
Our relationship started right after the 1986 New York Open, which was
held March 30 to April 7, 1986. The relationship started due to a
coincidence caused by a flight delay.

The 1986 New York Open was the first time that Laszlo Polgar, Susan's
father, had ever reached America. Previously, Mr. Polgar had not been
able to obtain a US visa, for the same reasons that most Hungarians
were not able to get a visa, which was that they feared that he would
overstay.

When the US Embassy was finally convinced that Mr. Polgar really was a
legitimate tourist, they gave him a visa. Prior to that time, Susan had
visited the United States accompanied only by her mother. I had first
met Susan at an invitational Goichberg tournament at the Manhattan
Chess Club in November, 1985. She lost to Mark Ginzberg in a Lucena
position on the first day that I met her. The next time I came to see
her, she lost a long game to Yehuda Gruenfeld. As a result, Susan
disliked me at first, because every time I came to see her, she lost
her chess game.

Her mother, Klara, however, liked me. We next met at the 1986 National
Open in Las Vegas. I told them that I worked in computers. Klara told
me that her husband was very interested in computers and would be very
anxious to meet me when he was finally able to come to the US.

That turned out to be the 1986 New York Open. Laszlo Polgar told me
there that he was very interested in buying what he called the "Rare
Computer". I told him not to waste his money on unusual off-brands. He
should buy IBM PC compatibles or else Apple MacIntosh. Nevertheless,
Laszlo doggedly insisted that he must have the Rare Computer and
nothing else.

I had never heard of the Rare Computer, but after several days of
discussions about this, Laszlo Polgar refused to budge. He absolutely
must have the Rare Computer. I was later to learn that this is a
characteristic of Laszlo Polgar. He will not listen to reason. Once he
makes up his mind about something, he will never change it.

Finally, out of frustration, trying to deal with this bull dog of a
man, I just decided to buy him a computer with my own money. I called a
computer company in Texas, ordered a $2000 computer with my credit
card, and they agreed to ship it to the address of the Polgars in
Hungary. Laszlo Polgar was very happy, because he is always willing to
take anything offered for free.

After the New York Open, Susan told me that they were scheduled to fly
to Los Angeles, where Hal Bogner had scheduled for Susan to give a
simultaneous exhibition. I agreed to meet them when they came back and
to help them get to the airport, as I had a car.

When they returned a week later I was shocked to learn that they had
never made it to Los Angeles. Just after I had last spoken to them at
the New York Penta Hotel, they had been approached by a man named
Shiloh Quinn, who had told them that he would bring them millions of
dollars in sponsorship money if they would accompany him to Montreal.
As a result, they had called Hal Bogner and told him to cancel the
simultaneous exhibition, because they could not come to Los Angeles.

In Montreal, Shiloh Quinn has gotten them to agree to give him Sophia
Polgar, who was 11 years old at the time. Actually, Shiloh Quinn had
wanted Zsuzsa. However, they were not willing to give up Zsuzsa, but
they were willing to give up Sophia, so they had left Sophia with
Shiloh Quinn, and had returned to New York without her. Laszlo Polgar
said that this was OK, because Shiloh Quinn had a Hungarian wife.

At JFK Airport, they were scheduled to take different flights back to
Budapest. The reason for this was that Jose Cuxchi, the organizer of
the New York Open, had given Zsuzsa Polgar, her mother, Klara, and the
two sisters, Sophia and Judit, free tickets from Budapest to New York
on Iberia Airlines, with a stop-over in Madrid, Spain. However, he had
not given a free ticket to Laszlo Polgar. Therefore, Laszlo Polgar had
bought his own ticket on Malev, the Hungarian Airline.

However, Laszlo Polgar had never been to Spain before and he wanted to
go there. Therefore, in New York, he had made a deal with the airlines
to switch tickets with Zsuzsa. She would fly back directly to Budapest
on Malev, and he along with Klara and Judit would fly back to Budapest
in Iberia Airlines, with a stopover in Spain.

This was especially convenient because the Malev flight was scheduled
to leave JFK Asirport two hours before the Iberia Airlines flight, so
they would be with Susan until she caught her flight.

A serious problem, however, arose when the Malev flight was delayed due
to mechanical problems.

This meant that Laszlo, Klara and Judit Polgar had to leave on a flight
before Zsuzsa left. They had no choice in the matter. The tickets were
non-refundable promotional tickets provided by Jose Cuchi. They could
not afford to stay behind in New York, and it was too late to change
the tickets back to the way that they originally were, with Lazslo
flying on Malev and Zsuzsa flying on Iberia Airlines.

Therefore, when flight time came, they had no choice in the matter, but
to leave. Laszlo, Klara and Judit bordered the Iberia Airlines flight
to Spain, leaving Zsuzsa alone in JFK Airport with me, Sam Sloan.

It so happened that this was exactly Zsuzsa's 17th birthday. Zsuzsa
Polgar was born on April 19, 1969. The New York Open concluded on April
8, 1986. After that, they flew to Montreal, stayed for a week and flew
back to New York. So, this was exactly Susan's 17th birthday, or else
was the day after, I cannot remember which. I mention this because I
have been accused of getting involved with Susan when she was 16 years
old, but actually she was 17 at the time.

Shortly after Laszlo, Klara and Judit had departed on Iberia Airlines,
the representative of Malev Airlines came by. He said that, as the
flight had been delayed, he was offering a courtesy hotel room at
airline expense. I did not yet know Susan well, and she did not speak
much English, so I do not believe that I even asked her. I just asked
the airline representative when the flight was expected to leave. He
said that it would be only a few hours longer. So, without thinking or
asking Susan, I said that we would just wait in the airport, because a
few hours was no big deal.

What I did not yet realize was that Zsuzsa was the most protected girl
in the world. She was so protected that she could not even go to the
woman's restroom alone. Her mother would have to accompany her. Her
parents were terrified that she would meet a boy somewhere and fall in
love. As her parents did not work, Susan was the bread winner of the
family, supporting the family through her chess tournament winnings.
There was no way that they were going to allow her to go anywhere or to
be anywhere alone.

Suddenly, due to the delayed flight, for the first time in her entire
life, Zsuzsa was alone with a man, namely me.

Two months later, I went to Hungary. On my arrival in Budapest, I was
immediately invited to stay as a guest in the Polgar home. I was
shocked to learn that the computer I had purchased for them to be
shipped from Texas was still in the customs warehouse in Budapest.
Laszlo Polgar and I went to the customs warehouse. I paid some small
fees and the customs people released the computer to us. We took the
computer to the Polgar apartment.

I spent the next two days setting up the computer, organizing it and
putting files on it. It was unlike computers nowadays where everything
comes pre-installed. I was working on developing a computer chess
program called Rex Chess which I had entered into the World Computer
Chess Championship to be played the following month in Cologne,
Germany.

I was shocked when, two days after the computer had arrived, Laszlo
Polgar brought two men to the apartment to buy it. They said that they
had wanted the "Rare Computer" and were not entirely happy with this
other type of computer that Laszlo Polgar had. I then learned that the
Rare Computer was a brand name of a computer, and they had ordered it
from Laszlo. I have never been able to find a computer with that brand
name, however.

Finally, they agreed to buy the computer for $7,000. I was not happy. I
had bought the computer for the three Polgar Sisters. I had imagined
them to be geniuses, not the chess playing autonomons that they
actually turned out to be. I had dreams of them learning computer
programming and making a positive contribution to society. That is the
reason I had bought them the computer. I had not realized that the plan
all along had been to sell it for profit.

However, it would have been pointless for me to protest. If I had
stopped them from selling it while I was there, they would just wait
until I was not there, and then sell it. So, I said nothing about it.

After they got the $7,000 from selling the computer, they invited me to
accompany them to an International Chess Tournament in Albena,
Bulgaria. Zsuzsa won the tournament and I had one of the best results
of my life. I then accompanied Susan and her family over the next
several months to chess tournaments in Copenhagen, Denmark, San Juan,
Puerto Rico and Rio Gallegos, Argentina. I personally arranged the
tickets for the five of them and me to fly to Argentina.

I will leave out the details, some of which are seamy, except that I
will say that my remark about which Herbert Rodney Vaughn now files his
ethics complaint is entirely accurate.

I must add, however, that my remark was in response to a motion to
censure me made by Bill Goichberg. That motion by Goichberg consisted
of five parts, all of which had to do with my relationship with Susan
Polgar. Bill probably did not even know that I had ever had a
relationship with Susan Polgar. That is why I said that, in making his
motion, Bill was acting like a bull in a China Shop. All these past
twenty-one years, I have avoided publicly revealing the facts that I
have just set forth above.

Goichberg implied that this was a motion made by the USCF Attorney,
Michael Matsler. This is misleading. After the election votes were
counted and I had won the election on July 20, 2006, Bill Goichberg
wrote five letters to Michael Matsler, basically asking how he could
get rid of Sam Sloan, either by preventing me from taking office or by
removing me from office. Bill Goichberg also wrote a strongly worded
board motion attacking me over the Polgar Affair. Michael Matsler wrote
back with a much milder motion than the one written by Goichberg. Even
the relatively mildly worded motion by Matsler required me to respond.
I was thinking of making a much stronger response, but finally I
decided to make the delicately worded one-sentence response that I did,
which is the subject of this ethics complaint.

Obviously, you can figure out that I have just started to tell the full
story about what happened between me and Susan Polgar in 1986. If
Goichberg, Vaughn and Susan herself do not stop attacking me almost
daily over this, I may eventually have to tell the whole story and
write a book about it, but I am avoiding doing that for the time being.

Thus, I have answered all five of the remaining counts of the Ethics
Complaint filed by Herbert Rodney Vaughn. I believe that I have
satisfactorily addressed all these issues and that indeed I have
demonstrated that the ethics complaint is entirely frivolous. Again, I
request that the Ethics Committee obtain a tape or a transcript of the
Executive Board meeting on August 14, 2006. After reviewing that tape
or transcript, you will be able to see that everything I have written
on that subject is correct and accurate.

I realize that Bill Goichberg and perhaps some other members of the
board will try to prevent the Ethics Committee from obtaining that tape
or transcript, but I feel that you should insist on obtaining it due to
the circumstances of this case.

In compliance with the request of the Ethics Committee, I am not
responding to the other 11 counts which have already been dismissed,
although otherwise I would have a lot to say about them as well.

Dated: Bronx, New York
January 5, 2007
Respectfully Submitted,



Sam Sloan

Sworn to before me this 5th
Day of January, 2007


_______________________
NOTARY PUBLIC


  #3   Report Post  
Old January 14th 07, 01:41 AM posted to rec.games.chess.politics,rec.games.chess.misc,rec.games.chess.computer,alt.chess,soc.culture.magyar
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: May 2006
Posts: 2,251
Default Response to Ethics Complaint by Herbert Rodney Vaughn

Herbert Vaughn
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:54 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Response:

While Mr. Sloan's remarks have been made after the 30
day deadline, and while I think his intentionally ignoring
this deadline is ample grounds for dismissing his
response as "too little, too late", I think I should
respond to some of his more glaring misstatements.

Count 1A, Lying to the delegates. I can't see how Mr.
Sloan thinks he can get away with his statement. An
entire room of delegates witnessed his agreement, and
several people that saw the meeting over the internet
did as well. For several days immediately following the
meeting, there were several posts asking WHEN he
was going to live up to his promise. In fairness, I
posted that he should be given some extra time, since
he was driving back from Oak Brook. Though he's a
frequent reader of these forums, he NEVER
questioned these posters about what "promise" they
were talking about. Saying now, 5 months later, that
he never made this promise to begin with just won't
work.

Count 3, Mr. Sloan's false charges against a USCF
employee. Mr. Sloan has tried to justify his completely
improper actions by saying HE BELIEVED they were
true. THIS ISN'T THE POINT! While I could claim that
even if what he says is true, no REASONABLE person
would leap to such a conclusion with no hard evidence
-- the real point is that it's against the Standards of
Conduct for Mr. Sloan to make such a charge in public
this was EVEN IF IT HAD BEEN TRUE, instead of
being a figment of his imagination. The standard of
conduct clearly says that criticism of employees is to
be delivered DISCRETELY through Bill Hall. The fact
that his charge was made with a reckless disregard
for the truth just makes the matter worse.

Count 4 -- Individual members of the EB are not
allowed to "pick and choose" which things from a
closed session they can reveal. The rules are very
clear, EB members are to respect the confidential
nature of these discussions.

Count 5 -- Regardless of what Mr. Sloan CLAIMS the
binfo system is for or how it is supposed to be used,
the TRUTH is contained in the actions of continuing
interest from the delegates. They described what the
system was to be used for. It is a resource of the
USCF and the interface to it is paid for by the USCF.
An EB member using if for his own private financial
gain (free advertising for his book) IS NOT one of the
defined purposes of this sytem.

Count 13 -- Mr. Sloan made far more derogatory
posts about Susan Polgar than just this one that he
mentions. In fact, I'd say that he's probably crossed
the line again. His long tirade trying to justify a middle
aged man in a position of trust with her family trying
to have a relationship with a 16 or 17-year old girl, just
doesn't cut it. It has so little to do with the charges,
that it's laughable.

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Herbert Rodney Vaughn 300 page Ethics Complaint Sam Sloan rec.games.chess.politics (Chess Politics) 3 September 24th 06 09:02 PM
Herbert Rodney Vaughn 300 page Ethics Complaint Sam Sloan rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 3 September 24th 06 09:02 PM
Herbert Rodney Vaughn 300 page Ethics Complaint Sam Sloan alt.chess (Alternative Chess Group) 3 September 24th 06 09:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Chess"

 

Copyright © 2017