Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Old June 12th 16, 09:34 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Default Pawn promotion

In the Paris Blitz tournament Nakamura Topalov game, Topalov promoted
his pawn on the eighth rank but pressed his clock then put the Queen on
the square. Nakamura claimed the game so Topalov lost. I didn't even
know a rule like that existed that you have to promote the pawn and put
the piece there that is promoted to then push the clock or you forfeit.
Anyone know why that rule is there? It doesn't seem like a such a big
deal to forfeit the game for.

EZoto
  #2   Report Post  
Old June 12th 16, 11:51 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Default Pawn promotion

On 12/06/2016 22:34, Euclides Zoto wrote:

In the Paris Blitz tournament Nakamura Topalov game, Topalov promoted
his pawn on the eighth rank but pressed his clock then put the Queen on
the square. Nakamura claimed the game so Topalov lost. I didn't even
know a rule like that existed that you have to promote the pawn and put
the piece there that is promoted to then push the clock or you forfeit.
Anyone know why that rule is there? It doesn't seem like a such a big
deal to forfeit the game for.

EZoto


Obviously, moving a pawn to his 8th without promoting is illegal. In
blitz, illegal moves lose the game, once the clock is pressed. So I
can't see anything unusual here.

Cheers,
Rainer
  #3   Report Post  
Old June 13th 16, 09:34 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,536
Default Pawn promotion

On Sunday, June 12, 2016 at 8:34:37 PM UTC+3, Euclides Zoto wrote:
In the Paris Blitz tournament Nakamura Topalov game, Topalov promoted
his pawn on the eighth rank but pressed his clock then put the Queen on
the square. Nakamura claimed the game so Topalov lost. I didn't even
know a rule like that existed that you have to promote the pawn and put
the piece there that is promoted to then push the clock or you forfeit.
Anyone know why that rule is there? It doesn't seem like a such a big
deal to forfeit the game for.

EZoto


It's illegal, as Rainer says, since you gain time by not promoting the piece and pushing the clock first. Naka is a blitz champion so he knows all these rules.

RL
  #4   Report Post  
Old June 13th 16, 09:09 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Default Pawn promotion

On 2016-06-12, Euclides Zoto wrote:
In the Paris Blitz tournament Nakamura Topalov game, Topalov promoted
his pawn on the eighth rank but pressed his clock then put the Queen on
the square. Nakamura claimed the game so Topalov lost. I didn't even
know a rule like that existed that you have to promote the pawn and put
the piece there that is promoted to then push the clock or you forfeit.
Anyone know why that rule is there? It doesn't seem like a such a big
deal to forfeit the game for.


If you haven't placed the new piece on the board, you haven't
finished your move, therefore you are not allowed to press the
clock.

--
Chris F.A. Johnson
  #5   Report Post  
Old June 14th 16, 03:00 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Default Pawn promotion

Euclides Zoto wrote:

In the Paris Blitz tournament Nakamura Topalov game, Topalov promoted
his pawn on the eighth rank but pressed his clock then put the Queen on
the square. Nakamura claimed the game so Topalov lost. I didn't even
know a rule like that existed that you have to promote the pawn and put
the piece there that is promoted to then push the clock or you forfeit.
Anyone know why that rule is there? It doesn't seem like a such a big
deal to forfeit the game for.

EZoto


Thank you everyone for the explanation. I see why now. It didn't seem
like such a big deal then but the reasons given are very clear now.

EZoto
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mate in 64 problem (request starting position to this amazing chess problem) darkme rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 6 May 8th 12 06:44 PM
An interesting post from ChessForums.org Offramp rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 7 June 24th 11 01:44 AM
ruy lopez exchange variation ironmarshal rec.games.chess.analysis (Chess Analysis) 63 December 4th 05 05:58 PM
Looking for comments Adam Maloney rec.games.chess.analysis (Chess Analysis) 7 November 4th 05 04:44 PM
Please check this out Richard rec.games.chess.analysis (Chess Analysis) 9 October 25th 05 05:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Chess"

 

Copyright © 2017