Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11   Report Post  
Old November 11th 16, 01:04 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Default Announcing future mates

On Mon, 26 Sep 2016 08:59:19 -0700 (PDT), Offramp
wrote:

In the days before increments announced mates might have been very useful. Suppose you had a definite mate in 4. You play the first move and say, "Mate in 4!" and then your flag drops. Who wins?


Is it mate (or stalemate) on the board? If so the game immediately
ends and even if you punch your clock and the flag falls it doesn't
change the result - the game terminated with the mate.

You declare mate and your flag falls? The game isn't over yet - and
you lose. I once forfeited a guy who had an obvious mate in 2 on the
board and it was the right call.

I felt bad about it and extremely sorry for the player but for sure it
was the right ruling.
  #13   Report Post  
Old November 11th 16, 01:15 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Default Announcing future mates

On Thu, 29 Sep 2016 12:33:15 -0700 (PDT),
wrote:



In the days before increments announced mates might have been very useful. Suppose you had a definite mate in 4. You play the first move and say, "Mate in 4!" and then your flag drops. Who wins?


Your opponent always wins if your flag drops and there is no mate on the board, therefore, no matter what time control exists, announcing mate is not achieving mate, therefore you lose on time and it doesn't matter if you have less material that can win the game.

When playing without a clock and announcing mate in 4, if your opponent plays on, he should be impaled in the public square, and if you made a false claim, you should


There are also other such positions - for instance if you take an
opponent's last piece so it's K+B vs K (or K+Kt vs K) without pawns
it's also an immediate draw. So is stalemate.

Any of these ends the game with a win or a draw immediately. The 50
move rule doesn't apply in these cases. Now if it was K+B+P vs K+P it
would be a win (because the draw rule only applies to these specific
ositions not positions where a loss is possible but only with extreme
idiocy)

But for sure if your flag is down and it's not mate or one of these
exception positions it's a loss for you.

Similarly there was one tournament I attended where a player keeled
over at the board and an ambulance called (the poor guy died without
regaining consciousness but that was in hospital not the playing area)
and the TD ordered ALL games halted. After the ambulance left he
announced what time all games would resume which they did.

In my opinion the TD made an excellent call and made entirely proper
use of the rule that says a TD can do pretty much anything for the
orderly running of the tournament.

Said TD subsequently earned the international arbiter title and in my
opinion had amply earned it in more ways than this one specific case.
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chess in the future... M Winther rec.games.chess.politics (Chess Politics) 3 September 25th 08 04:12 AM
Chess in the future... M Winther rec.games.chess.computer (Computer Chess) 6 September 22nd 08 06:38 PM
Chess in the future... [email protected] rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 5 September 21st 08 02:41 AM
Chess in the future... M Winther rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 0 September 18th 08 05:31 PM
King and Rook vs King and Knight [email protected] rec.games.chess.analysis (Chess Analysis) 7 February 24th 06 10:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Chess"

 

Copyright © 2017