Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21   Report Post  
Old January 29th 17, 09:24 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
Default Stalemate counts as a draw?

Quadibloc wrote:
On Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 2:22:08 PM UTC-7, Peter Percival wrote:
Does stalemate count as a draw?


Of course - and this is noted in just about every introductory book about Chess.

John Savard

Please excuse a personal question: are you the John Savard who used to
post to sci.math?

--
Do, as a concession to my poor wits, Lord Darlington, just explain
to me what you really mean.
I think I had better not, Duchess. Nowadays to be intelligible is
to be found out. -- Oscar Wilde, Lady Windermere's Fan

  #22   Report Post  
Old January 31st 17, 01:44 AM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Default Stalemate counts as a draw?

On Sat, 28 Jan 2017 15:19:23 -0700, Ken Blake
wrote:

Correct. This rule is designed to allow a draw claim for K + B or N vs
K. As you say mate is certainly constructable though not forceable by
best or even good play.



Correct? Care to show us those four checkmates positions by both
sides?


White: Kb6, Bb7 vs Black Ka8,Nb8 or similar positions in any of the 4
corners

If you're saying I meant K + B or K + N vs K then I apologize though
one can construct equally inane mates simply by adding a R pawn.

I emphasize we are talking about "helpmate" type mates not anything a
sensible player trying to win or at least not lose would make.
  #23   Report Post  
Old January 31st 17, 04:49 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Oct 2016
Posts: 10
Default Stalemate counts as a draw?

On Mon, 30 Jan 2017 17:44:50 -0800, The Horny Goat
wrote:

On Sat, 28 Jan 2017 15:19:23 -0700, Ken Blake
wrote:

Correct. This rule is designed to allow a draw claim for K + B or N vs
K. As you say mate is certainly constructable though not forceable by
best or even good play.



Correct? Care to show us those four checkmates positions by both
sides?


White: Kb6, Bb7 vs Black Ka8,Nb8 or similar positions in any of the 4
corners



Sure. But that's not K + B or N vs K.


If you're saying I meant K + B or K + N vs K



Sure, but I wasn't saying what you meant; I was saying what you wrote.


then I apologize though



OK, you just wrote something different from what you meant.


one can construct equally inane mates simply by adding a R pawn.

I emphasize we are talking about "helpmate" type mates not anything a
sensible player trying to win or at least not lose would make.



Of course.
  #24   Report Post  
Old January 31st 17, 07:18 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Jan 2008
Posts: 569
Default Stalemate counts as a draw?

On Sunday, January 29, 2017 at 2:24:29 PM UTC-7, Peter Percival wrote:
Quadibloc wrote:
On Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 2:22:08 PM UTC-7, Peter Percival wrote:
Does stalemate count as a draw?


Of course - and this is noted in just about every introductory book about Chess.


Please excuse a personal question: are you the John Savard who used to
post to sci.math?


Indeed. And I don't post much to sci.crypt any more either. But I'm still active
in alt.folklore.computers and rec.arts.sf.written .

John Savard
http://www.quadibloc.com/
  #25   Report Post  
Old February 4th 17, 06:49 PM posted to rec.games.chess.misc
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by ChessBanter: Feb 2016
Posts: 111
Default Stalemate counts as a draw?

On Saturday, January 28, 2017 at 4:11:25 PM UTC-5, The Horny Goat wrote:
On Fri, 27 Jan 2017 17:06:07 +0100, Rainer
wrote:



Note the wording - it does NOT assume best play - thus Black Ka8, Na7,
Nb8, White Kc7,Pb6 is still a win for white when Pb7 mate is the next
move even though no black would ever maneuver his pieces in that way.

Similarly K+2N vs K can't be claimed a draw under this rule since 2
N's CAN mate - just not by force against best play.


2 or 3 years ago, a game in the USA woman's championship ended with K+N v K+N and the arbiter immediately stepped in to declare it a draw. There are possible help-mates here, and in this instance it was an Armageddon finish, so white lost.

Phil Innes

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stalemate wins in K + P versus K M Winther rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 5 October 2nd 14 09:52 AM
RayLopez99's Forgotten Masters (TM) series: Heinrich Wolf, 1875 - 1943 raylopez99 rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 10 November 29th 10 02:56 PM
Chess Puzzle Sylvain rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 10 March 1st 10 10:42 PM
Interpretation of the fifty move draw rule [email protected] rec.games.chess.misc (Chess General) 9 May 17th 06 10:23 AM
BAP David Kane rec.games.chess.politics (Chess Politics) 135 December 24th 05 08:39 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Chess"

 

Copyright © 2017