Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Old March 9th 04, 03:19 AM
Jon Haskel
 
Posts: n/a
Default Game Situation

Anyone ever see this situation occur:

One player, with rook and king has just a few seconds left on his clock (no
time delay), the other player has a king but plenty of time left on his
clock. The player with the rook resigns as he does not know how to mate
with rook and king and his flag is about to fall. The player with the rook
does not realize that his opponent could not have won because of
insufficient mating material. This situation nearly occurred the other
night.

Jon Haskel


  #2   Report Post  
Old March 9th 04, 04:06 AM
Matt Nemmers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Game Situation

"Jon Haskel" wrote in message
news
Anyone ever see this situation occur:

One player, with rook and king has just a few seconds left on his clock

(no
time delay), the other player has a king but plenty of time left on his
clock. The player with the rook resigns as he does not know how to mate
with rook and king and his flag is about to fall. The player with the

rook
does not realize that his opponent could not have won because of
insufficient mating material. This situation nearly occurred the other
night.

Jon Haskel


Never seen that before, but it is unfortunate and it raises an interesting
question:

Can the player who just resigned in the situation later claim the draw based
on insufficient mating material on the part of his opponent AFTER he learns
of the rule? I mean, a resignation is a resignation is a resignation, but
the other player could not have won the game in the absence of one.

Personally, I'd rule that the player resigned and thus, doesn't get any
benefit after the fact as ignorance is not a defense. Any more experienced
TDs out there got a different take?

Regards,

Matt


  #3   Report Post  
Old March 9th 04, 07:38 PM
Kenneth Sloan
 
Posts: n/a
Default Game Situation

"Matt Nemmers" writes:

"Jon Haskel" wrote in message
news
Anyone ever see this situation occur:

One player, with rook and king has just a few seconds left on his clock

(no
time delay), the other player has a king but plenty of time left on his
clock. The player with the rook resigns as he does not know how to mate
with rook and king and his flag is about to fall. The player with the

rook
does not realize that his opponent could not have won because of
insufficient mating material. This situation nearly occurred the other
night.

Jon Haskel


Never seen that before, but it is unfortunate and it raises an interesting
question:

Can the player who just resigned in the situation later claim the draw based
on insufficient mating material on the part of his opponent AFTER he learns
of the rule?




No.



I mean, a resignation is a resignation is a resignation, but
the other player could not have won the game in the absence of one.

Personally, I'd rule that the player resigned and thus, doesn't get any
benefit after the fact as ignorance is not a defense. Any more experienced
TDs out there got a different take?

Regards,

Matt



--
Kenneth Sloan
Computer and Information Sciences (205) 934-2213
University of Alabama at Birmingham FAX (205) 934-5473
Birmingham, AL 35294-1170
http://www.cis.uab.edu/info/faculty/sloan/
  #4   Report Post  
Old March 10th 04, 05:46 PM
KidDon
 
Posts: n/a
Default Game Situation

"Jon Haskel" wrote in message ...
Anyone ever see this situation occur:

One player, with rook and king has just a few seconds left on his clock (no
time delay), the other player has a king but plenty of time left on his
clock. The player with the rook resigns as he does not know how to mate
with rook and king and his flag is about to fall. The player with the rook
does not realize that his opponent could not have won because of
insufficient mating material. This situation nearly occurred the other
night.

Jon Haskel

___________________________
I have seen it before, in the K-5 "Under" division of last year's
scholastic states, on one of the lower boards, and have also seen it
in a club game involving two 6 yr. old beginners. The resignation
stands, and cannot be revoked.

Don
  #5   Report Post  
Old March 11th 04, 03:53 AM
John Fernandez
 
Posts: n/a
Default Game Situation

I have seen it before, in the K-5 "Under" division of last year's
scholastic states, on one of the lower boards, and have also seen it
in a club game involving two 6 yr. old beginners. The resignation
stands, and cannot be revoked.

Don


Is it legal to resign in a position where it is impossible to lose, even
intentionally?

John Fernandez


  #6   Report Post  
Old March 11th 04, 06:47 AM
sandirhodes
 
Posts: n/a
Default Game Situation


"John Fernandez wrote
Is it legal to resign in a position where it is impossible to lose, even
intentionally?


And, would it not be tantamount to throwing a game? Whether or not correct by the book, it seems to me the correct result, should
someone resign (or flag fall, for that matter) with NO losing chances, is a draw.


Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IS IT WRONG TO PLAY VIOLENT VIDEO GAMES? Gunny Bunny rec.games.chess.computer (Computer Chess) 5 June 2nd 04 08:44 PM
Game Situation Sam Sloan rec.games.chess.analysis (Chess Analysis) 196 March 30th 04 04:28 AM
Game > Play > Outcome > Analysis > Game Theory Soph Omore rec.games.chess.computer (Computer Chess) 6 November 23rd 03 01:01 AM
Game > Play > Outcome > Analysis > Game Theory Soph Omore rec.games.chess.politics (Chess Politics) 6 November 23rd 03 01:01 AM
Tim Hanke Chess Trivia Game Sam Sloan rec.games.chess.politics (Chess Politics) 31 July 22nd 03 11:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 ChessBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Chess"

 

Copyright © 2017